Most people realize that felonies are the most serious criminal charges, and a misdemeanor charge are the relatively minor offenses under Georgia law. Because of this, too many defendants believe they do not need to hire a criminal defense lawyer in Greensboro to handle a misdemeanor case. This is often a mistake, however, as not having the right representation can result in overly harsh consequences, even for seemingly minor crimes.
Possible Misdemeanor Penalties in Georgia
Non-felony offenses in Georgia are categorized as either misdemeanors or misdemeanors of a high and aggravated nature. For a misdemeanor conviction, you may face the following maximum penalties:
- One year in county jail
- One year in a state diversion center
- $1,000 fine
For a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature, the maximum jail time is still one year, though the maximum fine is $5,000.
For both types of misdemeanors, a judge may allow a defendant to serve probation instead of jail time. As long as a defendant successfully completes probation, they may not have to serve any jail sentence. If they do have a jail sentence of six months or less, the court may allow a defendant to serve time on the weekends when they are not working. However, these options are often not offered to unrepresented defendants. It’s important to have an attorney who is looking into every possible option to avoid a conviction or minimize a misdemeanor sentence.
Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Greensboro RIght Away
A misdemeanor conviction can affect your life in many ways, so you should seek help from a Greensboro criminal defense attorney from the law firm of E.J. Boswell, even if your case seems minor. Call 706-417-8299 or contact us online to discuss how we can help defend against your criminal charges.