In the days leading up to Labor Day weekend – and over the long weekend itself – there is no doubt that state officials will considerably ramp up DUI enforcement. Even first-time DUI convictions can result in jail time, along with a whole host of other serious penalties. If you or a close friend or loved one has been arrested and charged with DUI in Georgia, call the experienced DUI defense lawyers at EJ Boswell Law Office today. Our experienced legal team can assist you with defending against your charge and reducing the possibility of any penalties.
What do Georgia DUI Laws Say?
In the State of Georgia, the law prohibits individuals from physically controlling or operating a motor vehicle under the following circumstances:
- While he or she is under the influence of a drug, controlled substance, or alcohol
- While he or she has any amount of illegal drugs or marijuana in the urine or blood, as measured by chemical testing
- While he or she has a blood alcohol concentration (otherwise known as a BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher
Tighter restrictions apply for drivers who are under 21 years of age (0.02 percent cut-off) and commercial drivers (0.04 percent cut-off). Moreover, if the driver is found to have a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher, he or she could be convicted of DUI per se, which can result in harsher penalties.
Call a Georgia DUI Defense Attorney Today
DUI penalties increase based upon the number of prior DUI convictions on a person’s record. If you or a loved one is facing a charge for DUI, hire an experienced defense attorney to represent you right away. To schedule a free consultation and case evaluation with a DUI defense lawyer at EJ Boswell Law Office in Georgia, please call us at 706.454.0032 or contact us online for more information.