Criminal Defense And High-Stakes Divorce In Georgia Requires Grit And Local Insight

Aerial View of Lake Oconee

License suspension due to DUI charges

On Behalf of | Oct 14, 2022 | DUI

If you currently face charges as a result of driving under the influence, it is crucial to go over the various ways in which these allegations could disrupt your life. Not only could DUI charges shatter your reputation, create challenges with respect to your career and result in costly fines, but they could also affect your driving privileges.

Drunk driving charges can lead to license suspension, and you should understand how long you could lose your license as well as the process of reinstating your license.

License suspension for a first DUI offense

According to the Georgia Department of Driver Services, if charged with DUI for the first time in five years, you could face the suspension of your driver’s license for 12 months. That said, if you meet certain conditions, you can apply to have your driver’s license reinstated after 120 days. In addition, you could have the possibility of securing a limited permit.

License reinstatement after a DUI suspense

In order to have your driver’s license reinstated, you have to wait for 120 days and complete an approved program at a certified DUI school. Furthermore, you have to pay a reinstatement fee, either in person or via mail. It is crucial to understand your options and take steps to restore your driving privileges promptly, especially if you need to drive in order to go to work or take care of other responsibilities.

Whether you worry about the possibility of losing your license or have other concerns about how DUI charges could impact your future, you should carefully approach a drunk driving case.