Criminal Defense And High-Stakes Divorce In Georgia Requires Grit And Local Insight

Aerial View of Lake Oconee

What are the penalties for DUI in Georgia?

On Behalf of | Jun 1, 2023 | DUI

In Georgia, operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol incurs some steep penalties. If convicted, you can face fines, jail time, and other punishments.

Understanding these penalties is key to knowing what you are up against. It also helps determine whether a violation of your rights has occurred during the legal process. Here are a few key points to keep in mind.

First offense

For first drunk driving offenses, those convicted can receive a fine ranging from $300 to $1,000. As for jail time, the maximum sentence is up to one year. License suspension is another possible penalty, and the suspension period can last as long as one year depending on the circumstances of the offense. You will also need to pay a license reinstatement fee and perform community service.

Second offense

Keep in mind that the following penalties will occur if a second or subsequent offense happens within five years of the previous offense. In this case, a drunk driver will receive a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 48 hours. However, jail terms can range from 90 days to 1 year. As for fines, the minimum amount is $600, while the maximum is $1,000. License suspension will last three years, and those convicted may need to take substance abuse classes (along with paying the license reinstatement fee and performing community service).

Third offense

Jail terms for third DUI offenses entail a mandatory minimum 15-day jail sentence, while fines range from $1,000 to $5,000. The license revocation period lasts for five years, and those convicted must perform community service. Additionally, third offenses also involve having your name and photo published in your local paper, license plate seizure, and clinical evaluation plus the attendance of substance abuse classes based on the results of the evaluation.